National disability insurance scheme

You must have a permanent or severe disability to access the National disability insurance scheme.

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) will significantly change the way disability services are provided in Victoria and deliver individualised support for people with a disability, their families and carers.

The NDIS is giving people with disabilities in Victoria more choice and control over services and supports they need to enhance their lives.

The scheme is based on insurance principles and will be run by the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA), an independent statutory agency set up to implement the NDIS.

The NDIS is being rolled out in stages over 3 years, from July 2016, and more than 100,000 Victorians are expected to have transitioned to the scheme by 2019.


People currently receiving disability support through the Victorian Government will move to the NDIS at different times depending on where they live and the type of support they receive.

People transitioning to the NDIS may be able to meet the access requirements 6 months prior to the NDIS being rolled out within that area. See access requirements on the NDIS website.

To find out when your area is being transitioned, visit the NDIS website.

The NDIS will affect people aged 65 and under who receive the Home and Community Care service (HACC) and Mental Health Community Support Services (MHCSS).

People who currently receive support from the Victorian Government and are aged 65 or over when first assessed will transfer to the Commonwealth, where their support will continue under the Commonwealth’s Continuity of Support Programme (see its website).

People who are already receiving support services from the Victorian Government will be contacted in the lead up to the NDIS being rolled out in their area.

To learn more about the changes, information sessions are being held in areas across Victoria. For more information, visit the NDIS website.

You can also call the NDIA.

Quality and safeguards

Victoria and the Commonwealth have agreed roles and responsibilities in the transition to the NDIS that ensure quality supports and strong safeguards for people facing this once-in-a-generation change. Both governments have established working arrangements that outline each of their defined roles. This is published on the NDIS website.

Bilateral agreements

There are two Bilateral Agreements between the Commonwealth and Victoria.

  1. Transition to the NDIS outlines the agreed roll-out of the NDIS across Victoria.
  2. Transitioning responsibilities for Aged Care and Disability Services outlines the agreed split in responsibilities for the Commonwealth taking responsibility for people aged 65 years and over and Victoria taking responsibility for people aged under 65.

See the agreements on the NDIS website.